Control Page

The Control page allows you more control to manage each user account individually. You can edit the user information, upgrade licenses, and manage licenses for offline activation. In addition, it also displays the history logs of license activation, license upgrade, and software update.

 

To manage a user account, enter the Activation Key and click the Get Information button. From the Accounts page, you can also click on the Activation Key to load the Control page for such account.

 

To send an email containing the Activation Key to the user, click the Send Email button. See the topic SMTP Configuration on how to configure the outgoing (SMTP) email server settings, and the topic Email Template on how to customize the email template.

The following describes the areas in the Control page.

Product Upgrade

Under the menu bar, the [Select an upgrade] drop-down list automatically filters and shows the available upgrades from the Upgrades table for the current product of the account. To apply an upgrade to the user account, select from the drop-down list, and click the Upgrade Product button. To undo the most recent upgrade, click the Undo Upgrade button.

 

During license upgrade, the Activation Server merges the accountís current license and the upgrade license. The accountís current license is usually from the product Master License or the account MasterLicenseCust (if there is a prior upgrade). The upgrade license is from the upgrade Master License. The merge may be by replacement of Key Properties. Or, it may be by addition of Key Properties, when the upgrade Master License has the Add to existing Limit option enabled. As a result, the merge generates a new pair of Master ID and Master License called MasterIDCust and MasterLicenseCust. Both are saved to the user account and also recorded in the Upgrade Logs. The MasterLicenseCust is then used to generate the License Key afterwards.

 

noteNOTE: After the license upgrade, the MasterLicenseCust removes the Add to existing Limit option. As a result, Key Properties in the MasterLicenseCust will be updated (but not added) to the Key on the user machine.

 

noteNOTE: The license upgrade is first performed on the server side, which results in the new MasterLicenseCust on the user account. The upgrade does not yet apply to the user machine. Until the application connects to the server to reactivate or update license, then the Activation Server will use the MasterLicenseCust to generate and send the new License Key to replace the Key Properties on the user machine.

Offline Activation

Under the menu bar, the License Activation, License Deactivation, and Destroy-Code Confirmation boxes allow you to manage licenses for offline activation. For instance, if the user does not have access to the Internet, they may contact you via phone or email. You can manually generate and send the License Key to the user.

License Activation

The License Activation box allows you to generate the License Key for offline activation. Enter the Registration ID received from the user, and click the Activate button. The activation record and the generated License Key will be displayed in the Activation Logs pane.

License Deactivation

The License Deactivation box is used for offline license deactivation (or license transfer to the Activation Server). In this case, you must provide the RegIDTran from the Accounts table to the user. The user can use this RegIDTran for deactivation, in which the protected application will generate the License Key (or called LicKeyTran) that reflects the current state of the Key Properties. When you receive the License Key from the user, enter it in the provided field and click the Deactivate button. The deactivation record will be displayed in the Activation Logs pane.

Destroy-Code Confirmation

The Destroy-Code Confirmation box allows you to verify if the user has indeed destroyed the license. A common scenario for destroying license is that the user requests a refund for a software purchase. In this case, you can provide the Destroy utility to the user, in which it will generate a Destroy-Code after destroying the license. When you receive the Destroy-Code from the user, enter it in the provided field and click the Confirm button. The license destruction record will be displayed in the Activation Logs pane.

User Information

The User Information pane allows you to view and edit the user information.

Activation Logs

The Activation Logs pane displays information about activation activities for the account. The following describes the fields in the log.

DateTime

Shows the date and time of the action.

Action

Shows the action, which can be one of the followings.

 

         Activated. Means license activation for the first time (specifically, when the Activated checkbox is disabled). In this case, the Activation Server uses the MasterLicense to generate the License Key to respond to the license activation request. As a result, the Activated checkbox is enabled, and the ActivationCount is incremented by one.

         Deactivated. Means license deactivation, in which the license is removed from the userís machine and transferred to the Activation Server. In this case, the Activation Server receives the LicKeyTran from the license deactivation request. As a result, the Activated checkbox is disabled, and the ActivationCount is decremented by one.

         Transferred. Means license activation for retrieving the transferred license (specifically, when the Activated checkbox is disabled and the activation account contains the LicKeyTran). In this case, the Activation Server uses the LicKeyTran to generate the License Key to respond to the license activation request. As a result, the Activated checkbox is enabled, the ActivationCount is incremented by one, and the LicKeyTran is cleared.

         Reactivated. Means license activation for customization or upgrade (specifically, when the Activated checkbox is enabled and the activation account contains the MasterIDCust and MasterLicenseCust). In this case, the Activation Server uses the MasterLicenseCust to generate the License Key to respond to the license activation request. As a result, the Activated checkbox remains enabled, and the ActivationCount remains unchanged.

         Replaced. Means license activation for a replacement license (specifically, when the Activated checkbox is enabled). In this case, the Activation Server uses the MasterLicenseCust first, if available, or uses the MasterLicense to generate the License Key to respond to the license activation request. As a result, the Activated checkbox remains enabled, and the ActivationCount is incremented by one.

         Destroyed. Means license destruction. In this case, when the user destroys the license, the Destroy-Code is generated and sent to the Activation Server for verification. If the Destroy-Code is valid, the Activation Server returns a confirmation to the protected application. As a result, the Activated checkbox is disabled, and the Destroyed checkbox is enabled.

RegistrationID

Shows the Registration ID received from the license activation request. For the license deactivation request, it is the current RegIDTran.

LicenseKey

Shows the License Key generated to respond to the license activation request. Or, it is the LicKeyTran received from the license deactivation request.

HDDSig, CPUSig, BIOSSig, EthernetSig

Shows the HDD, CPU, BIOS, and Ethernet signatures, respectively, when you enable the extended Registration ID format in the protected application.

DestroyCode

Shows the Destroy-Code received from the Destroy-Code confirmation request.

Note

You can use the Note field to enter a note for the log entry.

Upgrade Logs

The Upgrade Logs pane displays information about upgrades for the account. The following describes the fields in the log.

UpgradeName

Shows the upgrade name.

MasterID, MasterLicense

Shows the MasterIDCust and MasterLicenseCust, which are the result of the license upgrade.

AddedActivation

Shows the total number of added activations, which is the result of the activation upgrade.

SubscriptionExpDate

Shows the subscription expiration date, which is the result of the subscription renewal.

 

See Also

         Products Page

         Upgrades Page

         Accounts Page

         History Page

         Permissions Page